COSTUME

Most people who know me would assume that I love clothes. I have a lot of clothes, I mean a LOT. Really, I dislike clothes, especially modern clothes. Clothes are annoying, and modern fashion is boring. I collect fun and interesting clothes to make this a bit more interesting. But I am also a theatre geek and historian, I like costume. Historical clothing is far more interesting to me than modern, so that is what I focus on, but modern can be fun too.

Much of my interest in these clothes really comes from my theatre background. My fun  comes from the idea of costume design itself; using clothes to tell something about a character, or in real life, using clothes to change people’s perceptions of a person. If anyone doubts this works, try on a few different hats in front of a mirror.

A fun thing to do sometimes is dress like a Goth and be extra polite and kind to people. It really confuses them, even though I have Goth friends and they are polite and kind. The stereotype informs people’s perceptions more than their personal experience. This is why wearing the right thing to job interviews is so important. Dress for the job you want.

I love fashion and there is no easier way to express yourself than through the clothes you wear.  –Victoria Justice

Leave a Reply

