Barbie

Barbie

So this…Well I found an awesome letter written from the perspective of Barbie to Santa. It was hilarious, and I decided to use it as a monologue. Unfortunately because it was not published I could not use it to compete, but it got very high scores. The outfit is a pink swim suit over a corset. I had to wear a sarong to get the waist in tight enough to even be able to tell. I wore a long blonde wig, incredible long, fake looking fake eyelashes that were actually designed to be cut down and used for dolls. Bring pink heels and lipstick set the whole thing off. The hardest part of the performance was moving in a way that was convincingly Barbie-like. I held my arms in the classic post and gestured using only the shoulders. Avoiding bending my elbows was a constant battle. The corset helped prevent accidental bending at the waist.

Here is the text of the letter that I found online. I have no idea who wrote it or where it came from. I originally found it at my house in a pile of paperwork. We thought it came from one of the ladies in my mother’s doll club, but no-one there had ever heard of it before. Thank you to whoever created this little piece of gold.

Leave a Reply

